Can we actually help the homeless? Please offer ideas.


Every time it’s cold I think about people sleeping outside. I get pissed about the dogs, you know that. But did you know that in 2013 – 610,042 people were homeless in the United States? Children, even. Good people. Mentally handicapped people. People who are just down on their luck. People suffering…

I read stories from time to time from the homeless groups I follow, and do you know that states will take their shelter? Kick them out of public spaces so they don’t “offend” the people. But when they check into a place that offers beds, they will refuse them blankets or take their belongings when they’re checking in and throw it away. If they’re women, they will offer them fast food and a bed for sex. Otherwise they won’t let them in. That’s why you have hard-core campers who refuse the aid offered by organizations who have no idea what’s going on every day in their units.

They can’t rely on the system because the system is DESPICABLE. It is unbelievable that anyone would let this happen. But they aren’t allowed to be in public spaces. So WHAT THE HELL ARE THEY SUPPOSED TO DO?

If you say “get a job,” you should know that I do not respect that. Some of them are not capable of that. Some of them are abused women who can’t rely on that same despicable system for safety who just want to protect their children. Some of them have disabilities and can’t function like most people.

I need evidence of a system that works — that has helped a community or a state, so that I can start to push on legislators. Yeah, I’m one person. But don’t underestimate me.

I know bar selfies get way more likes and attention. Not that there’s anything wrong with bar selfies… I like camaraderie and friends and Bacardi… I’m just saying I want to do something. So if you have any recommendations, please post. My internet searches haven’t really proven any methods. They all seem to be a temporary fix.

Leave a Reply

