Hey, Grandpa


You tapped the seat beside you as I walked up through the aisle
A special reservation on your day
Your bass guitar seemed giant, resting there across your lap
I beamed inside as you began to play

You sat me on your knee and asked me what I would become
I think I said “a vet”, and you just smiled
“It sure makes perfect sense”, you said, then gave a little squeeze
And we maneuvered puzzles for a while

You scratched his reddish fur and dodged his kisses, as I cried
You told me not to ask again today
But he sure loved you, Grandpa, and the tables were reversed
The day we set the cross to mark his grave

I tapped the seat beside me as you squeezed into the “Stang”
Destination: Ice Cream – you and me
You shook your head and chuckled as I put the black top down
I beamed inside as you reclined your seat

I took your hand so gently and I asked you how you feel
You gave a little groan, and I just smiled
I thought of adding color to your anaesthetic room
And we maneuvered silence, for a while

I ran my fingers through your hair, and kissed you one more time
I promised not to cry again today
But I knew you were listening when I saw the morning sun
Share daylight with a gentle, steady rain

They say that time will heal you but I can’t say I’d agree
I miss you just as much as I did then
It seems the world is buried, too – unoccupied machines
And sometimes I just need to hold your hand

If you could see me here, today, I hope you’d still be proud
I hope my chosen path would make you happy
And someday, when the time has come for me to walk the aisle
I’ll close my eyes and listen…
for the tapping

Leave a Reply

