I Remember You


I remember then
When you were mine
I wish I hadn’t been so scared
I couldn’t breathe
I couldn’t speak at all

I remember then, the softest smile
Framed by golden, curly locks
The empire that was you…
I was so small

I remember many shades of white
Glowing, gentle, whitest light
That seemed to bathe your body head to toe

And flowing silk
As sewn from stars
Does pirouettes around my floor
A “fouette” beneath your wildflower halo

So fluid was your motion
Hanging mist above my door
A gift for tiny human…
Quite unworthy

And as I looked right through you
You were looking right through me
But I was I, and you were… otherworldly

Leave a Reply

